Saturday, November 28, 2015

Saturday, November 28, 2015

We had a good Thanksgiving. This is the first year (in 15+ years) that I managed to get all the food done at the same time. Usually it's at least an hour apart. It never happens. So I was quite pleased with myself. And lunch was GOOD! I couldn't believe what a good job I did. And, yes, I am tooting my own horn.

I've been doing the 30 days of thanks on FB, and I think it's given me a more positive outlook on life this month. Each day I've had to come up with something that I'm thankful for, and doing that has made me look at the positive each day. It's hard to stay in the negative when you're forced to be positive.

Matthew is obsessed with putting things in his mouth, nose, and ears. I'm waiting for him to choke or get something stuck. It's not going to be pretty.

Speaking of Matthew, we have an appointment for the ENT specialist. He's been on meds for an ear infection for about 10 days now (I believe today will be his last dose), and I took him into the doctor a few days ago because he was still tugging at his ears and his nose is still runny and crusty. His ears were still fluid filled, but no infection. I asked about tubes anyway, because he's had infections and colds since early last spring, and she said it would be worth it to meet with ENT because she thinks his adnoids might be a problem. I told her I was thinking about getting him tested for allergies, and she said his adnoids could be the reason his nose is constantly running, and the ENT can give us more information. So, we'll see. We have the appointment on Tuesday. If we're going to do anything, I'd like to get it done before year's end, because we've already reached our maximum out-of-pocket.

I've been trying to figure out which foods I should remain abstinent from, and I've concluded that I really need to just stop eating when full. It's been really hard for me, especially yesterday. I couldn't stop myself from eating. I know I should have texted somebody from OA or gone on the FB page, but instead I just kept stuffing my mouth. If I'm serious about this, I need to take advantage of the tools given to me for help.

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

I'm in full-on preparation mode for Christmas planning. I got one of Bryan's presents already, and I've collected almost all the addresses so I can get started on my Christmas cards. (On a side note, I finally got all the thank-you notes from Matthew's birthday party done and ready to go out; I just need to buy stamps.) I'm trying to determine if I'm actually going to write all the address on the envelopes, or if I'm going to let the printer do the dirty work. I'm thinking of letting the printer do it. But I've got the list made out of who gets the cards, which cards need the extra picture of Matthew in it, and I think I'm ready to start when I don't have a 3-year-old burr stuck to my side.

I took Tea into the doctor yesterday for her knee. Now that she's been taking care of the sciatic nerve in her back, the pain in her knee has become more obvious. The doctor is certain that she sprained her knee and wants her to get physical therapy (she starts next week), and if that doesn't help within 2-3 weeks, he'll get an MRI to see if she tore a ligament or something of that sort.

It seems silly to write about stuff like this when there's so much bigger concerns going on in the world. The bombing in Paris happened just days ago, and now there's the big issue on whether the states are going to allow refugees in. I'm torn on it, and I feel like I just want to keep my head buried in the sand for as long as humanly possible, which is why you probably won't see me writing much about it. I'd much prefer to live my self-centered life while I still can and not think about the impending war. The pope said that this is the beginning of World War III, and I'm afraid I believe him.

Friday, November 13, 2015

Friday, November 13, 2015

You know, I try so damn hard, and it just doesn't seem to be enough some days. I can see why people drink and do drugs. I would love to drink away my problems or get high until I just don't care anymore. Instead I eat. Yeah, that's done well for me. Grrr. Anyway, right now is a time where I feel like eating everything away because I'm afraid Nick's going to yell at me about money. He works so damn hard to earn what I just "give" away to those bastards who are constantly after us. Damn paying the bills. And I'm trying to do what he wants me to do by ignoring other bills to get the mortgage paid, but it doesn't seem to be working out very well for me. I can't ignore needing milk and cereal and bread. I don't know how we're supposed to afford Christmas this year. I'm feeling scared and anxious right now.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Thursday, November 12, 2015

I just said to my 3-year-old, "Um, get out of my Facebook."

Yes, my 3-year-old. I am now the mother of a 3-year-old. It's hard to believe that he's gotten so big so quickly. His birthday party was good. It was large. A lot of people showed up. Frankly, it was crowded.

Matthew has also started school. He attends three days a week from 7:45 - 10:45. He absolutely loves it. There are no problems at all with the transition. He goes easily in the morning when I drop him off. It's amazing. It's kind of hard to get him out the door in the morning, though. I have to let him know that we're going to see Ms. Ashley, and then he's a little easier to get going. He loves Ms. Ashley. He does daycare on Mondays, and so far we're only a week into this schedule. Tomorrow will be the first day that he's home with me, and we'll go to the Centre and go swimming or go to the gym. I'm thinking the gym. I'll let him run around for awhile and get some energy out.

Yesterday I printed out pictures of what his nighttime schedule will be (shower, essential oils, pajamas, kindle, snuggle, bed), and we started using them. I'm hoping it's going to make bedtime easier, because I just can't do these bedtime battles anymore. They're too much. The other night he was up until 12:30 screaming. Urgh, I was so tired the next day. So I'm really hoping that a schedule will help. Now it'll just be sticking to it.

I caught a cold from Matthew. He's had one off and on for months now, and this is probably the second one that I've caught. It hit fast, so I'm hoping that it passes quickly as well. I'm already dealing with back problems (the chiropractor thinks that I have a herniated disc). There's only so much that I can deal with at one time. As much as some people think, I'm really not superwoman.