We went to Matthew's IEP meeting at the school yesterday. They had tested him for some additional things beyond just the speech/communication that we originally went in for. He's also delayed in cognitive, social, and adaptive skills. It was kind of a blow to hear that. I, of course, know that he has troubles, but I've always just considered it just part of his age. To hear that he's truly delayed for his age is not something I was ready to hear. I just can't explain it properly. He's a year behind in his speech. But he'll be getting the assistance that he needs. Starting in November, he'll be going to Early Childhood Education. He'll still go to daycare on Mondays so that he can get that social environment. He'll have ECE Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday mornings. In the afternoons he'll be home with me. I'm hoping that he'll take a nap those afternoons because he'll be so busy in school those mornings. On Fridays he'll be with me. I'm hoping to get us scheduled for some fun stuff. There's Crafty Fridays at the Centre, and there's also Romp and Stomp, or we could just go swimming. I've got options for stuff we could do on Fridays. And I figure if he doesn't nap in the afternoons, we can always go swimming then, too.
It's all just a little overwhelming right now. The assessments and the meetings have just a ton of information in them, and I feel like I'm just not up to knowing everything like I should. I feel like I'm not being the best advocate for Matthew that I should be. And then I get all weepy because this is my baby, and I wonder what I did wrong.
No comments:
Post a Comment